Champagne De Castelnau
The Champagne house of de Castelnau was founded in 1916 and named in honour of General Eduard de Curières de Castelnau. It swiftly made its reputation during the First World War. Champagne de Castelnau’s house emblem (the thistles and the coat of arms carry the motto “qui s’y frotte s’y pique”…he who rubs will be pricked) allude to this historical reference.
For three generations since 1925, Champagne de Castelnau belonged to a family from Epernay. By the 1930’s, de Castelnau Champagne had become very fashionable and was to remain a favourite of royal families and the majority of the French army throughout the world for much of the 20th century. Meanwhile, in 1962, 12 growers decided to pool their knowledge, experience and resources to create a new cellar in Reims: la Co-opérative Régionale des Vins de Champagne which acquired Champagne de Castelnau in 2003. Today the company draws its fruit from one of the largest vineyard bases in the Champagne region and has positioned the Champagne de Castelnau label as its figurehead.